Leading telecom giant, Etisalat Nigeria has listed 12 universities across the six geo-political zones as beneficiaries of the 2016 edition of its annual scholarship scheme, Etisalat Merit Award.

In addition to the institutions, hundreds of their students will also receive grants which have been increased by 100 per cent beginning from this current academic year.

The beneficiary institutions are Niger Delta University, Bayelsa State; Akwa Ibom State University; University of Lagos; Federal University of Technology, Akure; University of Ibadan; Enugu State University of Science and Technology; Ambrose Alli University, Ekpoma, Edo State; Benue State University; Modibbo Adama University of Technology, Yola, Adamawa State; Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria, Kaduna State; Bayero University, Kano and Usmanu Dan Fodio University, Sokoto.

Speaking on the 2016 edition of Merit Award, Director, Regulatory & Corporate Social Responsibility, Etisalat Nigeria, Ikenna Ikeme, said the schemeis a significant component of the education arm of the Etisalat’s tripodal Corporate Social Responsibility which also includes health and environment. He added that the award of grants to schools and students demonstrates Etisalat’s unwavering commitment to the development of Nigeria’s education sector and the promotion of excellence among the youth in the country.

“In line with our passion for youth development, Etisalat is delighted to announce a 100 percent increase in the grants to students from N100, 000 to N200, 000 beginning from the current year. Our objective is to ensure increased access of students to qualitative education as the grants will enable to buy needed books and research materials that will boost their capacity to do well in their studies,” he said.